Reviews

Rated 5/5 based on 6 customer reviews
"This is the third time in 25 years that Katherine Braun’s Sports Therapy has helped me after a joint replacement or back surgery to return to excellent function. Her therapists are so capable, competent and kind. It’s a pleasure to have physical therapy. Patients never want to stop!"
Nov 18, 2019
From Google
"I can't recommend STAR highly enough. I had mysteriously injured my shoulder and the pain was getting so bad that I couldn't even put a blanket on a shelf over my head. Kathy worked with me for months first relaxing my shoulder with massage and light band exercises and over time gradually worked with me adding many many exercises to gain flexibility and strength. I did get an MRI and although I have a small SLAP tear, I don't need surgery and with Kathy's guidance and a lot of work, I am now back to my regular exercise routine and have finished therapy. She is very experienced and has great communication skills clearly explaining the body's mechanics and therapy goals. Her staff is great too. Give STAR a call. I bet they'll have you ion the road to recovery soon. "
Nov 01, 2019
"Excellent"
Oct 30, 2019
From Google
"I started seeing Jesse because I wanted not only to recover from an injury but also to prevent future injuries and become a stronger runner. He has made a world of difference in terms of my mobility, strength and posture -- helping to correct issues that have plagued me for a long time. He checks in before planning each workout to see how my week has been and what, if anything, has been bothering me so that we can figure out a solution ASAP. His at-home routines are designed to fit into your life so that you'll actually do them (and I do!) instead of putting them off. Would definitely recommend!"
Oct 29, 2019
From Google
"I worked with Jesse Fuller while training for my first hundred mile race. Jesse helped keep my knees, hips, ankles (and everything else!) strong throughout my training. He showed me a lot of exercises that I had no idea existed, and was always great at asking me how my body was feeling, what I wanted to work on, and what my goals were. I would not be as strong a runner without Jesse!"
Oct 28, 2019
From Google
"After having my baby I was really struggling with hip/back pain with running and exercise. Working with Jesse was the smartest thing I did. He has helped me to eliminate the pain and strengthen weaker areas. Thanks to Jesse, I'm running better than I did pre-baby and completely pain free!"
Oct 28, 2019
From Google
"Jesse is the best!"
Oct 28, 2019
From Google
"Jesse is outstanding! He is incredibly knowledgeable and patient during each session, not to mention he makes himself available for help at any time. I appreciate his honesty and attentiveness to my needs—I firmly believe I will be better because of our work together!"
Oct 26, 2019
From Google
"Jesse has helped me recover from lower back pain while improving my core strength. He has also helped me improve my flexibility which has improved my running performance and enjoyment. "
Oct 26, 2019
"Jesse is an excellent & thoughtful PT! I recommend him to anyone looking to overcome an injury or improve themselves as an athlete."
Oct 26, 2019
From Google
"I am really impressed with Jesse Fuller, he has helped me get stronger, more coordinated, flexible and faster. Being a professional runner is very demanding on your body and Jesse has helped me over the last 3 years stay healthy and motivated. Jesse makes the workouts interesting and extremely challenging but achievable. I always leave a session feeling like I gained something. If you want to explore what you are capable of I suggest you give Jesse an opportunity. You will not be disappointed."
Oct 26, 2019
From Google
"Thanks to Jesse my core strength has improved tremendously. He is good about adjusting exercise programs in response to feedback but doesn't let you get away with excuses!"
Oct 25, 2019
"Jesse’s knowledge and approach not only helped fixing my lower back pain but also helped me in becoming better and stronger all around. With his tailored/personalized workouts, his overall dedication and responsiveness, you are sure to be challenged, inspired and never bored. I constantly recommend him to anyone that is looking to fix an issue or just wants to create a strong and better self."
Oct 25, 2019
From Google
"I've been working with Jesse for about 6 months to address numerous deficiencies that have been resulting in running injuries while I train for ultramarathons. Since working with Jesse I've watched as problem areas become pain free, my discomfort after big efforts is shortened, and I've been able to train at levels I've never even approached before. I think all runners could benefit immensely from a dedicated strength and mobility program and Jesse works tirelessly with me to put together a program that specifically addresses my issues. I can't recommend Jesse enough."
Oct 25, 2019
From Google
"Jesse Fuller is an excellent professional trainer! He is very detailed and pushes his clients to their outmost potential. He trained me really well when I was injured and helped me get back on track again! He is amazing!"
Oct 25, 2019
"Jesse Fuller is a very skilled, caring personal trainer who helped me greatly improve my core strength, hip mobility, and balance. His guidance has helped tremendously to improve my ability to run long ultramarathons and keep injury free. I highly recommend him."
Oct 25, 2019
"Jessie is a phenomenal trainer. In the 3 months we worked together he completely overhauled my strength, mechanics, and flexibility. I've worked with tons of other professionals in the field and his knowledge and conscientiousness stand out above the rest. Can't recommend enough!"
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"Jesse is a savior. I was a college cross country and track athlete who lives to run. I had been injured for 2 years, spent thousands on other PT and podiatrist services before Jesse. Jesse is the only person to solve my injury issues. He is also a cool dude who listens well and gets you in shape."
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"Jesse Fuller is a very skilled, caring personal trainer who helped me greatly improve my core strength, hip mobility, and balance. His guidance has helped tremendously to improve my ability to run long ultramarathons and keep injury free. I highly recommend him."
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"I've been working with Jesse for several years. He's been a tremendous help for me in navigating ongoing musculoskeletal issues; but more importantly he is critical in my training as an ultra marathon runner. Under his guidance I've manage to stay mostly pain and injury free while preparing for and completing for some of the most difficult mountain trail races in the world. Highly recommend!"
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"I’ve worked with Jesse for over a year as my remote injury prevention coach. It’s been a complete game-changed for me. I’m achieving new goals in ultramarathon running while avoiding injury. Jesse is super responsive and accessible, customizes workouts for my needs, and accommodates my busy schedule. In over 20 years of endurance sport racing, working with Jesse has been the best decision I’ve made. Highly recommend."
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"I’ve been working with Jesse on core strength and mobility as a long distance/ultra runner. He’s honest with his feedback (many aren’t) and pushes me with fun and challenging exercises. He knows running and kinetic movement extremely well and has helped dial me into my weak points."
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"Jesse Fuller is awesome! He is knowledgeable, genuinely cares about his clients, and takes a lot of time to devise a unique routine tailored to my needs. I can tell that he is genuinely invested in bettering my performance and condition. I have referred two friends to him and will continue to refer anyone who asks. Also, he is a nice and interesting person, so conversation helps pass the time while you are working out."
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"Jesse will not only solve any injury, he is also a pleasure to work with. I always look forward to my sessions with Jesse, and feel great after!"
Oct 24, 2019
From Google
"Allison Evron is absolutely one of the best physical therapists I have ever had, and I have had many. I had experienced pain in my hip ever since a hip replacement ten years ago. I saw several therapists, and no one could help. My doctor wanted me to take drugs; I wasn't going to do that. Finally I saw Allison, and she diagnosed the problem and has brought me back to a place I haven't been in ten years. I am sleeping through the night without having pain wake me up, and I am walking more confidently because of improved strength and balance. Basically, Allison has given me back my life."
Oct 21, 2019
From Google
"If you have shoulder pain, Kathy is the one to see. Amazing!"
Oct 17, 2019
"I highly recommend Kathy Braun and her team at Sports Therapy and Rehab (STAR). STAR offers patient-friendly hours and is located a short walk from the Farragut Metro stations. Kathy and her team treated me for a rotator cuff tear and for bilateral frozen shoulder. When I saw Kathy, I found her smart, knowledgeable and willing to listen. They same goes for her staff. They work with a lot of athletes and dancers, and Kathy came highly recommended when I asked people in my community for recommendations. I was interested in avoiding surgery because I'd heard that the outcomes could be iffy and that the recovery would be lengthy. In addition to be treated at STAR, I had an MRI and saw a surgeon for an assessment. That surgeon agreed that it would make sense to try PT, rest and exercise before opting for surgery, and he assessed afterward that I'd gotten a full recovery without surgery. Before being treated at STAR, I could not lift my arms, throw a ball or swim without severe pain. After treatment, I had full range of motion, and I now can throw a ball and swim a mile or more without pain. Followed Kathy's advice on how to balance and strengthen key muscle groups has helped me avoid relapsing."
Oct 15, 2019
From Google
"Allison is amazing! I travel from NY just get dry needling done by her. I always enjoy my visits to STAR. Front desk staff members are wonderful and welcoming."
Sep 26, 2019
From Google
"Allison is a miracle worker! When I started therapy for a torn rotator cuff, I couldn’t raise my arm above should height. After only about 5 months of patient, thoughtful therapy, I can not only raise it above my head but also behind my back! Then I had calcium deposits and an arthritic bone (pisiform) removed from my wrist. Post surgery, she brought that back to near full movement in about 2 months. My movement prior to the surgery was becoming quite limited. She’s a lifesaver!!"
Sep 24, 2019
From Google
"I had severe pain and debilitating arthritis in small joints of my ankle/foot, was told by doctor I needed surgery that would have required months of recovery. After intensive work with START therapist, my ankle is 95% pain-free, I'm back to walking long distances and down stairs, and totally happy every day that I didn't do surgery. I also have consulted with Kathy on hip pain and lower back pain. Worked a little with her and also was given exercises. I'm now virtually pain-free in hip, still working on lower back but it's significantly better. One more thing: When you come to appointment here, you have the undivided attention of the therapist, which is great."
Sep 24, 2019
From Google
"They Addressed my pain and mobility issues; provided me with the tools to resume playing golf! The facility's environment and staff are terrific and cheerful."
Sep 21, 2019
From Google
Sep 19, 2019
From Google
"I’ve been going to STAR for over 5 years now because it is not only the best PT in DC in terms of care, but also, everyone who works there is 100% behind you and wants to make sure you succeed. I cannot recommend STAR highly enough l, truly top of the tops care."
Sep 19, 2019
From Google
"My mom and I have been very blessed to find them. The front office staff is excellent - the ladies are very helpful and courteous. Devin has been a wonderful therapist. He is attentive and has helped my mom greatly. She feels much better thanks to his help."
Aug 21, 2019
From Google
"Kathy and her staff worked with me to recover from a broken ankle. She has also been fantastic in dealing with my chronic lower back issues. STAR has gotten me the best results I could hope for."
Feb 23, 2019
From Google
"I absolutely LOVE this place! The Ladies at the front desk always greet me with such happiness. They are very sweet and kind. The office and bathroom are very clean. My Trainer, Brian Collins is awesome. I injured my shoulder just recently and it has become very weak. Brian C. is helping me make it strong again. He will explain the muscles that you're using and demonstrate the exercises for you. Overall, a wonderful place to get physical therapy. Go check them out!"
Oct 17, 2018
From Google
"Had a fantastic experience here, everyone was extremely friendly and I got very good medical advise that's going to help me recover."
Sep 21, 2017
From Google
"I had an excellent experience at STAR and highly recommend to anyone in the D.C. area. At my first appointment I had severe lower back pain and couldn't even stand up straight. The therapists at STAR helped me develop a plan to first get back to performing every day activities, and before long I was back to running a few miles at a time pain free. All of the therapists are very knowledgeable and helped me understand what was causing the pain as well as how to prevent it in the future. STAR not only helped me heal physically, they also gave me the confidence to live an active, pain free life. In addition to capable therapists, the customer service is fantastic. Scheduling appointments was easy and reasonably flexible, even with my 9-5 work schedule. All appointments were one-on-one with the same therapist, Mike, who saw me through my entire treatment. As a former varsity runner, I've been to other PT clinics and athletic trainers for minor injuries where therapists have to juggle several patients at a time. The one-on-one personalized care at STAR was superior to every other experience I've had."
Jun 22, 2017
From Google
"Star really helped me dance and throw my Bouquet up in the air and helped me walk down stairs and on uneven places at my wedding thank you star!!!!!"
Jun 30, 2016
From Google
"I was torn about writing this review - because they are already very popular and it's tough to get an appointment. However, this is such a great business, it really deserves a good review. I've seen Nodair and Josh, and my husband has seen Rachel and Josh. We both have got so much out of our appointments - it may not be an exageration to say life changing. The therapists are really knowledgeable, but also really nice and interesting people. The place itself is nice and location is good. The reception staff are also very friendly and competent."
May 05, 2015
From Google
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

Testimonials

"STAR Clinic got rid of my back pain and then my neck pain that I had suffered with for 8 months. The detailed evaluation, exercises and mobilizations got right to my problem! Amazing PT's and caring staff! Come here first!"

- S. Kernan


"Thank you STAR for getting my knees back to running and completing my first marathon!"

- LS


"Ann has been my physical therapist for a couple of weeks now and her ongoing assessments of my progress have led to a more comprehensive diagnosis of the source of my back pain, and prescriptions to improve my strength. Extremely impressed with her calm, thorough, holistic approach. Could not be happier or recommend her more highly. Luckily my insurance covers treatment but if that were not the case, I would willingly pay out of pocket to continue."

- Happy H.


Kathy Braun has saved my life! I had a pinched nerve in my back that was preventing me from being my physically active self. No one (three therapists and several doctors) could tell me what I could do or not do. For over a year, all I did was walk. Kathy devoted two consultations to diagnosing my situation. And she got it right!!! Her exercises, massages, and advice on back pain management have enabled me to get off most of the medicine I was taking and get back to my normal life. I go to the gym now, use the exercise bike and machines, and am not constantly afraid that I will hurt myself. Steroid shots and surgery are very far from my mind, at least for now. The Star Clinic is a very happy place to be. I really look forward to my visits. I am so grateful to Kathy for giving me back my life.

- Judith G.


This is my 4th experience with PT. STAR clinic stands head and shoulders above other clinics in its delivery of care. STAR dedicates a one-on-one, highly skilled team to their patients, with ongoing, focused assessment of the patient's condition and needs. In my experience, in contrast to STAR, other clinics have sleep-walked through my therapy and, I realize now in retrospect, either had much less training or otherwise were following some rote, by the numbers, regiment that had little to do with what I needed done on my specific situation. The physical therapists at STAR are vigorously screened and vetted before hire by the owner, and I understand that they may also specialize in different areas of injury. For me, I've had chronic lower-back and mid-back pain/soreness and am so grateful for the level of care I've received at STAR.

- Cecilia F.


I went to STAR clinic and saw Holly, who helped me get back to running after 2 months. When I first saw her, I was limping and it was extremely painful to walk after a really bad running injury. The way she treated me, the time she spent with me and going over exercises saved my legs.

After months of finishing my treatment, I encountered another injury, shot her an email and was able to continue seeing her after such short notice. I have been able to stay in touch with her, and I attribute my recent successes in running and triathlons to her for treating me so well and my ability to stay injury free.

The other staff at STAR are nice, helpful and I love that the hours of appointments are very Holly is an amazing PT and if you are looking for a PT especially with a running related injury, she is beyond knowledgeable, and after seeing a couple other PT's she is by far the best I've ever seen.

- Jackie F.


I arrived a skeptic - with an ailing back - and left a huge fan. These folks are truly professionals and they treat trial sports professionals, including many Wizards, Mystics and even Mia Hamm! But best was that they treated me like a professional athlete too. Kathy and Michele tag-teamed me, each bringing insights and focus that were amazing. They literally have not only cured my injury but by giving me a regimen of exercises and stretches, they have changed the way I feel 24/7.

Also the office staff are terrific- handling the insurance and appointments with real skill and also always being friendly and helpful. It truly does not get better than this.

- Adam W.


I have been going to physical therapy for my left knee. In just two weeks the sessions have dramatically improved the flexibility. Once again I can walk down stairs. My therapist really knows how to work the knee and has already restored former motions and has strengthened the muscles supporting the knee. She provides a wide range of exercises to do. The progress is truly astonishing and I would give Sports Therapy & Rehabilitation at 1112 16th St. NW the highest rating.

- Brent Blackwelder